Writing, Reading and (maybe) Getting Published

Welcome to Loose Leaf Bound. This post will act as a statement of purpose of sorts-outlining what I hope to cover here, what I hope to accomplish and what you are likely to find as this blog evolves and, hopefully, evolves into a larger website of its own.

I am an out-of-work English major with an MA in English Literature and a BA in English with a focus on Creative Writing. In the dim and distant past I also collected an AA in General Studies. I am currently looking for work, though probably a bit half-assedly.  What I really enjoy doing is reading fiction, poetry, prose, watching flash movies, and generally enjoying anything that is creative and interesting. And what I do well is writing fiction, poetry, prose and failing to learn how to compile flash movies. Unfortunately, I don’t do so well when it comes to researching, caring about Professional Criticism and then writing some pointless, soulless paper eviscerating and examining fiction, poetry, prose or badly compiled flash movies.

Which explains why I’m not pursuing a PhD and am trying to find gainful employment in the worst place possible: michigan (last I heard, over 12% unemployment. Go Blue!)

What I hope to accomplish with this blog is to explore the process of writing. I will talk about what I’m working on, why I’m working on it, how I’m trying to work on it, etc. I’m sure this will be, at times, just a sounding board for me (and you) as I try to sort through some problem I’ve encountered. At other times it’ll probably get messy and philosophical and slightly introspective in a drive way puddle sort of way. I am sorry for these moments. They will be easier if you have some liquor handy.

Other times I will talk about something I’m reading or is being published. In effect, it’ll be a place to share what I find interesting and worth a look at. On the negative side, I live in michigan and I am sure I will be behind something new and fun. But on the flip side of that I often read old stuff anyway-so maybe this will also be a place to make old things new again.

This includes links to whatever interesting site I stumble across that is in some way related to literature, publishing, etc.

In other words, this blog will be a hodge podge of many different things all brought under this one umbrella. Hopefully it will be helpful to anyone who wanders by. Hopefully I will do well in holding up my end of the bargain.

What I won’t be doing (at least as far as I can foresee) is sharing any of my actual work on here. For whatever reason it just doesn’t seem appropriate.

I hope toget a schedule in place for blog updates, so this thing can have some sort of reliability for when new content will definitely be posted. Right now I’m thinking it will be Tuesday and Thursday because the acts of writing and reading are so time consuming, I should have enough time between posts to have something to write about.

That’s all for this one. Hope it is easily the least interesting blog I do here and I’ll see everyone again on Tuesday.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

