Transitioning Between Projects

well, I finished a short story over the weekend, around 3550 words, and I’m having a hard time moving back into some other projects. The short story was just a little thing that was really a spinoff from a Kevin Smith Smodcast but it came really easily and just seemed to show up on the page over the course of a couple of days.

The two projects I’m trying to transition back into, though, have been more difficult. one is a long work that is in the same vein of Ironweed by William Kennedy that I have tentatively titled “Green.” The other is something that started as a short story about someone witnessing someone die and has morphed into a larger project concerning obsession and the spiritual realm which is currently untitled.

“Green” I have been crawling along with. “Untitled” hasn’t been much better. And since I finished the short story I have been having a horrible time getting back into the swing of things. I’ve attempted free writes, poetry, establishing a schedule, etc. and just nothing has worked very well. I end up staring at the screen with nothing happening.

So I’m wondering if I should just move on to other projects. Throw both of these things in a drawer and come back to them when I can. This would be easy to do wth “untitled.” It’s something that just sort of popped up in a moment of rambling and it went for a ways. I don’t really care for the main character and the material doesn’t really interest me right now-though the material is there, in my head, and it’s going to be there until I get rid of it.  In other words, it’s going to annoy me until I finish whatever it is destiend to become.

This is a bit harder with Green. It’s been a story/concept that has been in my head for awhile and is something that I have been able to personalize to a degree. I also like the depth of it where I can use one story to relate the similarities/differences in father/son relationships over the course of several generations.

So I’m just sort of stuck in the mud between firm pieces of earth. Behind me is my finished short story, ahead of me are a handful of projects, but I just can’t bridge this gap yet.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

