Neil Gaiman wins a Newbery

I’m not a big fan of Neil Gaiman. I grew up reading Asimov and Bradbury and an associated grab bag of scifi/fantasy authors that were leftovers from my dad’s book collection. Old paperbacks with yellow spines and yellower pages.  Stuff that was treated like pulp even if it wasn’t legitimately pulp quality. So it’s not like I hate the genre as a whole. I’m just not a fan of Gaiman, having been utterly incapable of immersing myself in his work.

But I did notice that he won a Newbery Award for Children’s Literature and I just thought I would give him a quick congratulations. I also thought this would be a good moment to talk about versatility being a writer’s greatest gift to himself. Gaiman has spread his wings a bit and had a hand in several different forms of story telling and media. From novels to, I believe, graphic novels, to television and film-he’s worked with all of them in varying degrees and manners. And now he’s dipping into children’s literature, for which I say good for him.

But this is something I am not sure I notice much with writers who don’t work within a “genre.” Stephen King, Ann Rice, John Grisham, etc. have all dallied in a few different things with varying degrees of “hands on-edness* and it seems as if it is something that “serious” writers don’t enjoy the luxury of. Movies are made of their books but I don’t remember seeing their names attached to the projects other than having created the source material.

while genre writers seem to get shorted a bit on the respect side of things, I think that finding yourself within a genre also seems to open up unique career opportunities. this isn’t really something that I had anywhere to go with, and there are certainly exceptions to the rule, but I thought it was interesting to note.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

