John Updike – dead at 76

For a blog devoted to writing and literature and everything in between, it would be impossible to not mention the passing of John Updike. Unfortunately, it would also be imposssible for me to talk about John Updike with any idea if any of it was making any sort of sense.  Updike has always been someone I have thought of reading. He has existed at the periphery of my bookstore browsing, a writer I knew was a living icon but no idea why.

Going through the various articles that have been written about him I am wishing that I had read him before now.  Repeatedly it has been mentioned that critics were somewhat divided on Updike.  To some he was a lion and to some he was, well, maybe a bobcat.

But in the end I don’t think the critical divide really matters. What I think really matters is that people read him. People enjoyed reading him. And people will likely continue to read him.  It’s being read that keeps an author truly alive and it is likely an inevitable fate for every writer to slowly slip from public view and to be read by fewer and fewer people. Hopefully Updike is kept alive for a very long time. And I plan on picking up a couple of his Rabbit books soon.

The LA Times had my favorite write up. You can read it here.

Tags:

One Response to “John Updike – dead at 76”

  1. coffee Says:

    the loss of John Updike makes me wonder if the literary world is being replenished at the same rate that it’s losing such great writers

Leave a Reply

