Thinking of Going Back

I’m thinking of going back to school.

Maybe it’s the eight months of being out of school that have seen the economy crash, cash dwindle and the job market flooded with workers of every stripe, color and experience that has me considering this. Or maybe I really want to go back and pursue either an MFA or a PhD (though not in English Lit), I don’t know.  I do know that I am trying to piece together a paper or two on consumerism, the rise of a disposable society and the affect it has on media (and how media has in turn fed into it).  I also know that reading and writing are really the only two things that I do consistently any more and consistently enjoy.

So I am considering heading back. I am in a relationship with a woman who, as I think I mentioned in a previous blog, is also fresh out of grad school and is looking at MFA programs right now (Creative Writing). We have a five year old (well, she does, but legalities aside it is “we”) and we want to get our life going. So grad school, in any form, also looks sort of foolish and misdirected, at least for me.  But it’s getting to the point where I just don’t know what else to do.

I’m trying to decide, though, if I want to put the time and energy into it. If I want to dedicate the next several years of my living likely living hand to mouth in cramped quarters with my family while not providing much of a life for them. And if the payout down the road will be worth it.

A fair part of my decision likely rests on how well I put these papers together that I’m trying to get off the ground.  They look to be test flights in a way. If I can’t bring myself to do this bit of work on my own now, when for all intents and purposes I don’t have much of anything else to do, then I have to think that pursuing a career in this would be close to insane.

I think I could be good at it. And I think I could get good at the teaching part (especially if it wasn’t comp). But just not sure I’m up for the long haul. As it is, I think my mind is made up that I will not pursue any more degrees in literature. It’s either creative writing or some form of culture studies.  They seem more interesting to me. They seem to be more aligned with my interests.  I have some thinking to do on this. And some work.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

