Fuck this talking about writing. That’s for hacks.

I fell behind on this thing. A combination of illness, life changes, deaths, depression, lack of booze, and not really finding much of anything to say about literature or writing. Both things tend to bore me a bit after a short while.

That might be a fair share of the reason why I could never work up much enthusiasm for that MA in English Literature. I cuoldn’t will myself to just sit there and bullshit about some short story or novel or what someone else sat down and bullshitted about and feel it was productive or interesting or worth a damn.  First, what would anyone really care about my opinion for? I’ve been somewhat shocked every time I see someone leave a message here for the same reason. I just consider this something I have said and that it should only be of importance to me. Anyone else finding it at all important is something that I was always amazed by.

So I’m just going to start talking about whatever I want here. Take the idea of loose leaf bound to its logical point of existence. A true collection of random thoughts and ideas and posting and whatever else all just sort of lumped together and damn its coherency.

Coherency is overrated.

My girlfriend is taking some class talking about the structure of a novel. I don’t understand why you need a class for this. Apparently, they will read some different novels and then talk about them. Why do you need a class for this? Just read the thing. Go to the library or to Borders andsift through the stacks. Then read it. Think about it. And go from there.

the idea of a novel having structure at all irks me. Write enough words and you have a novel. Everything after that is just a question of quality. Is it good or is it crap? All a novel ever really signified to me was length. Everything else was  and is fair game.

Listening to The Rolling Stones. I heard a couple of songs on the radio about a month ago. They had a country acoustic feel to them. I had never gotten into the stones so I wasn’t familiar enough to place any of it. Ended up posting a query at a message board I go to and some albums were suggested. I just got around to grabbing some of the suggestions. Beggers Banquet is a helluva album.

I talked a bit about writing here. Still on topic.Maybe I can make it into a chapbook.

Leave a Reply

