The Work Backs Up

at the very least I have been sitting down and working on The Re-Write every day. Some days it goes well, others it doesn’t. The more I work at the re-write the more I find myself taking the write part literally. Instead of just tweaking, the thing is being written all over again in total.  I don’t know if this is a good thing or not, it is definitely shifting a bit in pace and tone, but I think it is a good thing. It seems more complete than before, as if I’m finally not leaving as much behind in the mentral debris of my head as I try to mine the vein and send the ore to the surface.

What I’ve noticed, though, is that I have a growing amount of work on backorder. Another novel that I had started and was roughly half-finished yet hasn’t been touched in quite some time. Old ideas that I’ve been kicking around since they were new ideas have been rattling their canes and wondering why I haven’t visited them lately.

This bugs me.  But I also know that a problem I’ve had in the past is that Ihave taken too many projects on at once. So resisting the urge to open up a new word file and start hacking away at another idea while trying to re-write another idea and trying to finish writing the first draft of yet a third idea is probably a good idea. 

But it still bugs me. I hate the idea of work backing up or, more accurately, of ideas backing up. Because they’re still in my head, they keep popping up and saying hey. They’re not like a book I can put on the shelf and just come back to later. That will hopefully come later. Right now they are more like someone who calls every once in awhile, says hey, and wants to chat for a bit.

And knowit’s the knowledge that these ideas are sitting there, waiting, that I have more stuff to work on, that bugs me. I want to be working on them and seeing where they go. I want to know where the story goes. What world is in my head. I want to do the work. I want to get the ideas out of my head.

But I’ve resigned myself to the fact that I have other work to do right now, that I need to finish the other re-write before starting other work, and so, for now, the work will just have to back up for awhile.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

