And it is gone

Short note, today has been a bit of a devastating nut crusher. Went to open up my file for the re-writes of my novel, called often here as The Novel, and found that upon closing my last session down my word processor decided to save it as a blank file. Zip. Zilch. Nada. Zero. Gone.

I’m fortunate in that I still have a roughly weekold copy of my re-writes. Loading the car and trekking home every other weekend, I’ve gotten into the habit of taking an updated copy of my re-writes with me so that I can keep working on them. So at least I didn’t lose the entire thing. But this past week has been an agonizingly slow week of tedious revision of a chapter I like but have found to be horribly sloppy with numerous and apparent shortcomings. But I’ve been trudging through it and could begin to see the light at the end of the chapter, as it were, and was looking forward to taking another big chunk out of it today with hopes of closing it up over the weekend but now, well, fuck.

that about sums it up. Well, fuck. Time to start over again. I’ll try to wear a cup this time.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

