Book Links 7/20/2012

I get these things over twitter, I read them, I sometimes re-tweet them, but then they are gone forever. After yesterdays book links post, I’m putting another up today and am considering making it a regular thing. If nothing else, it’ll save the links for me later.

Joss Whedon has ten tips for writing. This isn’t exactly new, it’s dated 2009, but it just came across my twitter feed today. I’m usually lukewarm towards his stuff, but what I like I really like.
It’s more from a screenplay bent, but I think the majority of it can be applicable to writing in general.

Also getting into the writing tips act is Tana French.

I am a Paul Auster fan, and here is a brief clip of him reading from his upcoming memoir.  It’s roughly three and a half minutes, and has me hooked. Maybe it’s because I know I’m getting older (half of Auster’s age, apparently) and so his reflections have a particular significance to me. I don’t know. But I think this is something I’m going to be in line to read when it comes out.

Lists are always fun conversational fodder. Amazon has released their 2012 list for most literate cities. My city didn’t make the list, but maybe we’re just too poor to buy from Amazon. Our libraries are well visited, though.

Zola wants to become the place to be for independent book sellers, replacing Google’s ebook service and eventually take on Amazon. It’s ballsy and ambitious, I like it.

Finally, The Atlantic has a nice write up about the protection of bookstores and how they may be more durable against the onslaught of Amazon than we feared (as well as making some suggestions for how we could work to protect these places).

Alright, that’s what I got for the day.

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “Book Links 7/20/2012”

  1. SandySays1 Says:

    Some good links

Leave a Reply

