Book (and other) links 8-20-13

I have a couple of Barnes and Noble links that are somewhat related. Over at Mashable, there’s this article about Nook devices and how it was probably a mistake by B&N to get involved in tablets, their devices are still really good and you should buy them before they are gone because they are cheap. Then, over at Publishing Perspectives, they have an article about Barnes and Noble having a healthy business in their brick-and-mortar stores, and their college bookstores.  At the same time, there is a great post up at Roughtype about the flattening of ebook sales. I’m sort of stuck in the middle of all of this. I don’t read ebooks. I just don’t.  I don’t have an ereader, and I like having physical books.  At the same time, I think a move towards digital media is an eventual reality.   Digital is too cost effective, too convenient, and too versatile.

The Inquisitor has an article naming 15 novels it sees being destined to become classics.  I’m less bullish on the majority of them. The only one of the list that I would enthusiastically endorse is McCarthy’s The Road. Franzen’s novel was arguably not the best novel its year of publication, while numbers 5,7, 8,and 9 just don’t belong (and I’m a big fan of Shadows of the Wind). I think Rowling’s place in YA lit is safe, but I’m not sure it’s a classic.  In the end, what becomes a “classic” seems to be more of a whim of changing enthusiasms and ease of publication than anything.

Elton John is just too damn scary for Russia.  Their loss. I’ll keep my Rocket Man, though.

Okay, this is a couple of days late, but better late than never.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

