Philip Seymour Hoffman RIP

It’s been a day, and I’m still not sure what to make of this. I’ve already seen way too much talk  (NYT link, fyi), though what he left behind has been steadily gaining – I especially like this post at Kateopolis. . If you’re following this at all, you’ve probably already seen some of the ugly details leaked about it. I think it is a tragic loss. He had three very young children with costume designer Mimi O’Donnell.

CNN  has my favorite write-up so far. And here’s something from 60 Minutes. And one of his last video interviews, this one with the LA Times.

I keep going over all of the movies I’ve loved with him in them. The Savages has become an increasingly important movie for me, as I move into middle age and my parents move into their senior years. Boogie Nights was one of my first DVD purchases, though primarily for all of the sex.  Love, Liza was a raw, aching performance of being the one who was left behind by a loved one committing suicide. All of them left impressions, all of them were of an actor who brought everything he had to a role.

He’s thirteen years older than me. That might be what hits the most. Not that he’s accomplished so much more, or anything like that, but how quickly he went. How he is already just gone. I don’t know. Like I said, I’m still processing this. I think I’ll sit down and watch a few movies.

Leave a Reply

