I’m too old for this

Alright, I’m a hockey fan, been following the Wings since 1987. Since getting married, getting kids, etc., time to watch games has kind of tightened a bit over the years. I fit in games when I can, occasionally watching them later. With the Wings in the Western Conference for so long I was sort of accustomed to late games, as the Wings swung out west playing games in Colorado, Dallas, Arizona, Alberta, California, etc. It was something you lived with.

I’m not accustomed to it any more.

Making it worse is that the Wings have had a lousy year, most games seeming uninspired drubbings. Last night they actually showed up to play and it was entertaining. The game also started at 103o.

I made it through two and a half periods. The Wings were up 4-0 at that point, it seemed pretty in hand, and I was dead to the world at that point. So I went to bed.

And then I was up again at 6 this morning to get The Boy ready for school. Then Little Girl was up. Then my day was off and running.

I was not running to keep up. I felt like hell, felt like hell for most of the day, probably looked like it. Still, I managed to get the meals on the table, kept the kids from seriously harming themselves or eachother and I think I did a decent job of things.

But I can’t do this any more. I just can’t do the physical turn around of a few hours sleep and trying to be functional. All day I felt miserable. I was constantly snacking on junk foods and feeling like crap because it was junk food. Now it’s 11pm, I’m feeling drained, a little sick, been sucking on a zinc cough drop. It feels like I’ve been trying to desperately mend holes and throw patches over worn out patches all day.

Days like today make me realize the real cost of adulthood is just the cold hard reality of getting older, and having to accommodate for that.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

